A Year of Learning

13 Sep

Pete & I

It was our 1 year Anniversary yesterday! We took a day, and just went adventuring. Speaking for the both of us, I’d say that road trips/adventuring is our favorite thing to do as a couple. We love stumbling upon places we’ve never been, taking pictures, experiencing new things, and just enjoying each others company(I hope Pete would agree 🙂 ). And that’s exactly what we did. It was perfect. It had been a while since we got to spend time with each other outside of the house, alone. Pete’s parents came over to watch the dogs, because Ruby can no longer be trusted to roam the house unbridled while we’re gone for any length of time(..tune in next time for that story of heart ache and pain).

Pete and I had somewhat of a plan.. at least we knew which direction we were headed. We only had a few hours, so we couldn’t go too far. No big deal, but much more fun than dinner and a movie.

So, we drove around, saw some pretty scenery, took a few pictures, giggled and smiled as we squeezed each others thighs cruising down the road. Cheese ball, I know, but mostly true.

Half way through our trip we found a cute little gift shop in the middle of nowhere. We found something we both liked, and agreed it was a gift to the both of us. As with the other few things we’ve purchased on fun trips or days, there’s a little story behind the item, and for anyone interested in hearing, we’ll tell them.

This fun decor piece is carved ironwood. It makes us feel edgy and particularly more special, because ironwood is illegal to harvest in the US… so this came from an artist in Mexico. 😛 Oh boy.

Before we headed to dinner we stopped at a local vineyard and did a wine tasting. I’m not a huge fan of wine, but the vineyards themselves are beautiful and I’m always up to take pictures.

It’s sad to say I’ve never seen such a thing in my life. Living in northern Minnesota for 20 years can do that to a person. Who knew grapes could be beautiful. Maybe I’m just crazy.

It was a really fun time. I found a wine I liked too!

Thinking back over the past year, there has been a lot learned between the two of us. And not just about each other. There’s still a lot to learn about each other, but mostly we learned to face reality together and work as a team. The reality of owning a home, paying bills, dealing with a dog that acts like a toddler. .a toddler who chews up shoes.. The normal stuff.

Once your married, your responsibilities are now your partners as well. We are still working on the “working as a team” part. I think it will be a work in progress for a while. My idea of teamwork is, getting a little more help when Pete’s home. Like for instance, asking Pete to put his boxers in the laundry basket so I don’t have to. That experience taught me that when asked to do such a heinous task, he drops his drawers and scoots them closer to the basket so I don’t have to carry them as far.

Like I said.. a work in progress.

Within this past year, I’ve learned a lot about Pete’s character too. He is probably the hardest worker I know. Never has a bad attitude, just does what he needs to do, and does it well. I am proud he is my husband.

Can I hear some “awwww’s”? Ha ha.

Regardless of the stress we faced this first year, it’s only made us stronger, and showed us how to get through the tougher times together. I’m excited to see what this next year will bring.

Leave a Reply

