Andrea-Come-Lately

13 Sep

So, it’s been a while since I’ve blogged.. if you couldn’t tell. I feel bad. Like I’ve neglected a pet or my “manicure”, or the Wild Safari Jungle that’s growing in my backyard(..which I really do feel badly about, but not enough to brave the heat. And certainly not enough to sweat profusely while mowing into the wind and becoming completely camouflaged in my own yard.. and probably a few fire ants. I thought this was a husbands job? What did I sign up for? Where does my husband go when I tell him we have to mow the lawn?).

To be completely honest, there hasn’t been much to blog about! But given the explanation of “Why Andrea Does Not Want To Mow The Lawn: Part 1“, I could be wrong. I just don’t assume my day to day, piddly diddly things are all that interesting to read! By the way, the Wild Safari Jungle will be set to open next week. Complete with poisonous spiders, baby snakes and, you guessed it, fire ants. Watch out for dog poop!

Are there dogs in the jungle?

So life has been going on since I last posted. My husbands work schedule has gone from glorious days, to lousy nights. And then recently back to days to cover a few shifts. It was a wonderful time. But, the reality god slapped, and today is his first day back on nights. *sigh* Life goes on.

As for me, I’ve been searching for a job, any job. One that pays, preferably. And if God wouldn’t have come through for us on numerous occasions, I would be the sad little blonde girl greeting you at your next visit to your local Wal-Mart to get dish washing detergent and fuzzy socks. Either that or the little blonde girl with the scared look on her face, and a note on her forehead that reads, “Who am I? What am I doing here?” I’m not trying to be a Wal-Mart hater, but in my heart I know that’s not where I should be. I feel destined for a great life doing the things I love, like photographing beautiful people, and blogging, and mowing my lawn(I’m working on it). All while making money(let’s not kid around here).

I have no problem doing the things I don’t care to do. My childhood was filled with chores I didn’t like to do. My childhood was also filled with phrases like, “Sometimes you have to do things you don’t want to do“(duh), and “Life’s not fair!“(that was a popular one). My parents were very loving, but showed no mercy when it came to me and my siblings helping out. Looking back, I’m very thankful for that. They also said things like “You’ll understand when you’re older”. They were right.. I hope they don’t read this.

I’m finding I have to keep telling myself, “I, Andrea Borchardt, have skills! They may not fall into any category required to have a simple job that pays a few bills, but they are skills nonetheless, and I will find a way to turn them into money.” It’s a huge motivator, believe it or not. Do what works, right?

Then I go bake a cake, or make too much baked chicken for dinner(one of my many skills).

Another one of my many skills is using an insane amount of parenthesis. It’s like those annoying VH1 pop-up videos with all the excerpts on behind the scenes facts. Or on Kate Plus 8. But that’s a schpeal for another day.

So much for not having anything to blog about! It’s amazing what just spills out when I take time to really think about things. I may make this part of my daily ritual, after I shower… which reminds me…

For now, I need to move on to my next blog entry (after my shower). Take this gibberish as an apology for being so negligent towards my blog, and my very few readers. But that will change because “I have skills!” ha.

Here I sit with my cup of cream(I added a little coffee this time), ready to face the day(and more blogging with parenthesis)!

 

2 Responses to “Andrea-Come-Lately”

  1. Megan September 13, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I really like this blog! I now know what is going on in your life! Love your writing!

  2. Rach September 20, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Aiah – you are amazing. And you’re right… you DO have skills! Actually, “You got skillz to pay da billz!” Hahaha…. ooooh dear. Keep writing, I love reading it!

Leave a Reply

