A day in the life: Mother’s Day [with photos] -Northern Midwest Edition

13 May

Man, days seem to fly by fast around here! It’s been non stop since we arrived.

Today, especially, has gone by fast.

9AM: Today I slept in a little. I was woke up at 5AM when my husband finally came home from night fishing with my brother and friends. At least he had a blast. They didn’t catch anything, but had a HUGE bonfire by the river.

This is the only evidence I have of what actually went on last night.

And so far, no complaints on Pete’s end about being worked to death. Night fishing was a fun break for him πŸ™‚

10AM: Wrote in moms card, and drew her a picture on the envelope.

Because I lub her.

10:30AM: Between Danae and I, we made overnight caramel french toast, scrambled eggs, and bacon for breakfast for Mother’s Day.

I have no photographic evidence, because it was scarffed up within minutes.

12PM: Cleaned up brunch.

People, especially men, forget… a meal may have only taken 45 minute to make, but there’s an hour worth of dishes afterwards. (but, that’s a rant for another day)

12:30PM: We went to visit Grandma to give her flowers and a card.

We also invited them for supper (and fixed their tv :P).

2PM: Then, I came home and made supper. Ranch house chicken and parmesean mashed potatoes, with gravy.

It’s mmm mmm good.

3PM: It’s in the oven as we speak.

Danae cleaned the house while I made supper.

4PM: Now everyones napping. It’s the only way to make it through the day around here!

And since It’s taken me 30 minutes to write this, nap time is over, potatoes are boiling on the stove, and life as we know it has resumed.

Grandparents will be here in 30 minutes which will put us at 5:30PM.

We are about to whip up some brownies for dessert.

And can’t we all agree that after supper the day is basically over?

Then maybe if the wind dies down we can have a bonfire. πŸ™‚

I hope you all had a great Mother’s Day, and that you were lucky enough, like me, to be able to spend it with your mom.

UPDATE:

9PM: Since the wind wouldn’t die down, me and the hubby decided to go to the drive-in theater.

Yes, I said drive-in theater. It’s the only one in the state of Minnesota besides one I’ve heard of in Minneapolis. And it’s so cool, it’s in my home town!

You don’t know what you miss until you don’t have it out your doorstep anymore πŸ™‚

We saw Act of Valor, and it was awesome. I was very surprised I’d be into a Navy Seal type movie, but it was really good.

And my hubby finally got to experience the drive-in!

Leave a Reply

