Grill Time: Burgers and Corn

18 Jun

I didn’t set out to document this mealtime.

My intention wasn’t to make a homemade meal just for the purpose of taking photos and posting a recipe.

That’s why I have no pictures of the “before”.

Damn.

But on top of looking scrumptous, it all tasted amazing too!

I know it was just burgers and corn, but A. this was my first time having grilled corn on the cob, and B. the burgers were on homemade buns, which we ALL know makes everything taste better.

Oh, and there was bacon.

First, there’s the homemade hamburger buns.

Because I didn’t feel like going ALL the way to the store (5 whole minutes away), I made these.

You can find the recipe here.

Please resist the urge to slather a stick of butter over a hot one, fresh out of the oven.

And eat it.

And love it.

Okay, don’t resist. I wont judge you.

Then there was the corn.

The glorious, grilled corn.

I’m ashamed to admit I never had grilled corn before.

And that truely is something to be ashamed of, because growing up we planted 1/2 acre of sweet corn each year at the farm.

We always boiled it. After we spent hours husking it, and feeding the husks to the horses, we were starved and didn’t want to wait more than 5 minutes to eat it.

You can understand that.

Can’t you?

Well I’ve lost all understanding since grilled corn on the cob entered my once sheltered life.

Moving on.

Das Berger.

It was amazing.


I’m sorry I’m doing this to you.


My husband loved it too.

That’s all that really matters right?

If you’ve gotten two thumbs up from your spouse, you know it’s good.

And thanks to him grilling on the 100 degree day… we satisfied our craving for a good hamburger.

3 Responses to “Grill Time: Burgers and Corn”

  1. foodyrach June 18, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    Anyone who knows about a good burger knows that it’s all about good bread. I think you’ve captured that with the homemade buns. Wish I could take a big messy bite out of that burger!

  2. Pasta Princess June 18, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Looks great! Love the photos

  3. lifesjoyphotography June 18, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    Thanks ladies!

Leave a Reply

