Porch Project: In Progress

2 Jul

After a busy week, I was ready to unwind.

Feeling totally inspired and eager to find something to work on since stumbling upon Young House Love’s blog, I decided to start something this weekend!

I mean, who else unwinds by finding a project to do.

Okay, so it wasn’t a huge project by any means, but fun and relaxing nonetheless!

… and it involved shopping.

::

So, Pete and I headed out to do errands and clearance shop.

First stop, Target. They have awesome clearance. Found some cute candle holders for our side table. At $1.48 for the three smaller ones, and $2.68 for the lantern, I couldn’t pass it up!

We also grabbed 6 solar garden lights for $25, but we had a gift card. 🙂

Total so far: $7.12

::

My main focus was the front porch. I’ve been itching to get an outdoor rug for the space. Rugs bring everything together.

And at our last stop, Lowes, I struck gold! Er.. rug! They had outdoor rugs on clearance, and I snagged myself a 5×7 natural fiber rug for 29.99!

Also at Lowes, I grabbed 3 glass light fixture covers for a cozy hanging candle project. They were about $2.30 a piece. And with the 3 tiki oil lights I bought to go inside them for $2 each, that brings my total up to $50.01!

::

Oh, almost forgot the 4 bags of mulch we bought to freshen up the flower bed. $10 for 4 bags. Total now: $60.01.

Here’s a “before” picture. I had to dig for it, but I found one.

We had the chairs, and the “shabby chic”, or paint-chipped-off-from-sun-exposure side table already. Also, our bushes have grown quite significantly since the before picture was taken.


Chloe is a fan of the rug.


Love the hanging lights. Can’t beat under $5 per light.

The stump in the foreground is another project I will be getting to soon, once it cures. 🙂


Doesn’t it it just make you want to come and sit with a drink?

This is where my relaxing weekend hit it’s peak.

My $60 went a long way, and was totally worth it.

It’s far from finished. I want to paint the ceiling of the porch a bright color this winter. Also on the hunt for cheap, but stylish outdoor fabric so I can recover the chair cushions. I want to paint the shabby chic side table white too…

Lots of plans!

I love it so far. And will keep you up to date on any progress I make!

Leave a Reply

