“C” is for cookie.. that’s all you need to know.

21 Aug

Yes, you read correctly.

Thank you for trusting me.

Now on to the important stuff.

 

I made these tonight. They were so easy and so yummy.

Soft Mint & Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups chopped Andes Mints, Andes Mints Creme de Menth Baking Chips OR Nestle mint & dark chocolate chips

I actually used only 1/2 cup Andes baking chips (because that’s all I had), and for the rest, I used a bag of Nestle mint & dark chocolate chips (and I added some semi sweet chips too :] )

Preheat oven to 350. In a stand mixer (or whatever you have), using the paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugars. Add eggs and beat for about 1 minute. Add vanilla.

This part is supposed to say “In a separate bowl”, but if you are a rule breaker like me, I almost always never do. And I’ve never had problems.

So, sorry to you professional bakers out there. I do respect and understand why this is done.

Washing extra bowls is such a huge pain for just flour. And too much work for me.

So, whichever you decide, there is one thing you must do (okay, you caught me… a few things)..  add soda, powder and cocoa to mixer(or a separate bowl for you sticklers), and 1 cup of the flour. Mix until just combined, and then add the rest of the flour. Mix until just combined.

I emphasize the ‘just’, because there is such a thing as over mixing Missy.

Trust me, again.. like before, or earlier.

 

Then for my most favorite part… the chocolate!

Add in your chips, and hand mix. Or, again, like me, The Rule Breaker, avoid using any muscle and turn the mixer back on to low. I actually prefer this because it breaks up the chips and you get more evenly distributed gooey goodness throughout the cookie. It turns into a swirly mess of soft cookie with chocolate in every bite.

Yes, I could probably write for ad companies. Thank you for asking. :]

Plop teaspoons of this swirly mess onto a greased cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes exactly. I started out at 9 minutes just so I could check and make sure they weren’t already done. But it needed 10 minutes every time.

Let rest on the pan for a few minutes, then remove cookies and put on tin foil to cool.


Yes, it’s the same picture. I’m just giving you a gentle reminder of what you’re missing out on if you don’t make these.

 

Now go try this recipe.

It’s a must if you love mint and chocolate.

 

Leave a Reply

